WhatsApp has made group Admins more powerful by allowing them to delete any messages sent by the group members.
Few months ago, the Meta-Owned Company made the announcement that the feature will be made available soon.
The ability to delete group messages for everyone will allow group admins to moderate their WhatsApp groups in a better way. The feature was noticed last year (2021).
This is indeed a very good development from WhatsApp as it will curb the activities of scammers and spammers.
Please note that the feature is available only on the new WhatsApp. In other words, you need to update your WhatsApp to the latest version before you can use this feature.
To know if the feature is available on your WhatsApp account, try deleting an incoming messaging in the group of which you are the admin. If you see the option “delete for everyone”, it means, the feature is available on your account.
“When you delete a message for everyone, sent by another group participant, other people can always see that you’ve deleted that message since your name shows up within the chat bubble.”
The Meta-owned app will release the feature for more beta users in the coming weeks.
How it works?
Open WhatsApp and go to the group chat containing the message you want to delete.
Tap Delete > Choose “Delete for Everyone”.
Tap and hold the message. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.
Once you delete the message, other members of the group will be notified simultaneously that an admin deleted the particular message from the group.